Getting compensated for your car accident should not be difficult but many times the car insurance company does not want to give you the money that you deserve.
Their job is simply to keep more money in their pocket than they give out in settlements.
You should have someone on your side that knows all of the tricks that the insurance company tries to play on innocent victims like yourself.
When Should I Contact A Car Accident Attorney?
One of the things that people are very confused about is when to contact a car accident attorney.
If your claim is under 500 dollars in value then you most likely do not need to contact an attorney, this is unless you believe your claim should be above this amount but the insurance company is try to take your money.
You should contact an attorney if:
You have injuries or damages which you are not sure of their worth. If you think that you should be getting more money than the insurance company wants to give you then you should contact an attorney.
There were multiple injuries in the accident.
You missed out on work because of injuries resulting from the accident.
There was strain on your marriage because of the accident.
There was emotional trauma because of the accident.
You are unsure what to do with the claims process
Why To Use An Attorney
You should use an attorney because you do not have a working knowledge of all the auto accident law. There are so many different rules and laws that you don’t know that you may leave 1,000s of dollars on the table!
Besides for this you may not have the time or ability to take care of the claims process.
You may be friends with your insurance agent but you must understand that they are not on your side. They are not trying to get you the most money possible.
Hiring an attorney that specializes in car crash law is going to be the best way to get a professional on your side.
No Up Front Fees! What is so much better is that the attorneys are not going to charge you anything to start the process. Not a penny. The only way that they get paid is if you get paid and then it’s only a small percentage of your settlement.
How To Get In Contact With An Auto Accident Attorney?
Here on this site we’ve made it easy to get in contact with a legal professional practicing in your area. All that you need to do is enter your state and city in the box above. Once you do this you will have a form that you can submit your contact information and your full story of your accident as well.
How Soon Will I Hear From An Attorney?
Most times after you have entered your information you will get a call within 24 hours and sometimes as little as 2 hours unless it is a weekend or a holiday.
Just scroll to the top, enter your state, your city and then your contact information and details about your accident click submit. Once you do this you will be contacted for a free consultation.
Top to Fill Out Accident Claim Form
If you injured by another person, it is important that you take care of your injuries as soon as possible, but it is also important that, after this is accomplished, you contact a lawyer if you believe you may not be at fault for the injury. This is because you have a limited amount of time to file a personal injury lawsuit in Texas.
Statute of limitations
The statute of limitations is the statutory rule that determines how long you have to file a claim with the court after you are injured. In the usual case, the limitation period starts when the injury occurs. In Texas, except for defamation cases (which this article does not deal with), the limitation period is two years.
Sometimes, you may know that you are injured but you may not know who or what is the cause of an injury, or you may not even know that an injury has occurred, until a long time after the act which causes the injury (that is, beyond two years after the injury occurs). In this situation, under the “discovery rule,” a lawsuit can be filed within a defined period of time after the injury is discovered, or reasonably should have been discovered.
The Texas Supreme Court has stated in Wagner & Brown, Ltd. v. Horwood that the discovery rule is “a very limited exception to statutes of limitations”, to be applied when an injury is inherently undiscoverable and objectively verifiable. “An injury is inherently undiscoverable if it is, by its nature, unlikely to be discovered within the prescribed limitations period despite due diligence.” And what is “due diligence”? In Southwest Olshan Found. Repair Co., LLC v. Gonzales, the Court of Appeals defined it as the “[k]nowledge of facts, conditions, or circumstances that would cause a reasonable person to make inquiry . . . is equivalent to knowledge of the cause of action for limitation purposes.”
Legal assistance is needed to answer these questions
In addition to the discovery rule, sometimes the statute of limitations is “tolled,” which means that something has stopped the statute from running for a certain length of time. This “something” may be minority (that is, the victim of the injury was underage when the injury occurred) or mental incompetency (that is, the victim was not competent mentally when the injury occurred).
In Texas, except for medical malpractice, when a minor is injured, the statute of limitations is tolled at the time of injury and does not begin to run until the minor turns 18 years of age. For medical malpractice cases, when a minor under the age of 12 is injured, the statute is tolled, but a lawsuit must be filed by the time the minor turns 14 years of age.
Personal injuries (whether by car accidents, workplace accidents, medical malpractice, and the like) are a frequent, albeit unfortunate, occurrence. In addition to the pain and suffering they cause, the legal consequences may be significant. To make sure that you receive the compensation you’re entitled to, in the time period allowed by the law, it is important to seek the counsel of an experienced lawyer immediately, so that he or she will begin a thorough examination of all aspects of the situation (medical and legal) to determine liability.